Back to All Events

Pat Donovan Dinner 2018

  • Greenglass 336 George Street Brisbane City, QLD, 4000 Australia (map)

The Pat Donovan Dinner is being arranged to farewell a group of UQ Law Alumni who are leaving shortly for postgraduate studies overseas.

The dinner is named in honour of Francis Patrick (Pat) Donovan (1922-2012), the first UQ law graduate to take this path.  Donovan was born on 2 February 1922 in Ingham.  He was educated at St Joseph's College, Nudgee, where he was Dux.  In 1938, he was awarded an open scholarship to the University of Queensland.  During the war years (1939-1945), he completed his legal studies whilst serving in the Australian Army.  In 1946, he graduated with a Bachelor of Laws and was admitted as a barrister.   In 1946, he became the Law School's first Rhodes Scholar.  At Magdalen College, Oxford, he completed a Bachelor of Civil Laws degree (1949).  In 1952, he was appointed Professor of Commercial Law at the University of Melbourne.  In 1961, he commenced a career in the Australian diplomatic service, later becoming Australia's Ambassador to the OECD (1977).  After retirement from the diplomatic service, he served on the International Court of Arbitration.  In 1976, he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia.  In 1998, the French government appointed him a Chevalier Legion d'honneur.  After many years living in an apartment in the Avenue Foch, Paris, he died at the age of 90 in 2012.

This year, the UQ law alumni who are leaving for overseas study are:

  • Joshua Underwood (Oxford)
  • Jordan English (Oxford)
  • Sam Walpole (Oxford)
  • Carl Tessmann (Harvard)
  • Samuel Hickey (Harvard)
  • Stephanie Derrington – who studied at both UQ and QUT (Oxford)

The dinner in their honour is  to be held as a private function at Greenglass Restaurant, 336 George Street, Brisbane, on Tuesday, 7 August 2018, at 7pm.

Tickets for this dinner are available for UQLA Members and their guests.  The cost is $70.

Earlier Event: July 26
Inaugural Breakfast
Later Event: November 28
2018 Annual General Meeting